Having one drink too many and getting behind the wheel of a car is a mistake many people make in their lifetimes. It can also be a costly one. An arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) can have a long-term effect on a person’s life. Since the penalties for DUI and DWI get more substantial with each arrest, it’s essential to put forth your best defense against a conviction and keep your record clean.
Penalties for DWI/DUI in Texas
Many people don’t know their limits when it comes to drinking until they make their first major mistake. The penalties for DUI/DWI take this into account, by providing more leniency for first-time offenders. Upon your first DWI/DUI arrest, you may be subject to:
Upon your second DWI/DUI arrest, you may be subject to:
Upon your third DWI/DUI arrest, you may be subject to:
In Texas, a second or third arrest for DWI/DUI also requires the installation of an ignition interlock device on your car, which requires you to take and pass a breathalyzer test before the vehicle’s engine will start.
Refusal to Test Penalties
Failing a breathalyzer or blood test is not the only way you can end up penalized for suspected drunk-driving. If you refuse to take an alcohol test, the officer will tell you the penalties for refusing and you will have to sign a statement of your refusal. The officer can legally take your license, providing you a temporary driving permit instead, which must be contested to keep your license from being suspended. If you fail to challenge the suspension, your license will be suspended 180 days the first time and two years for each subsequent refusal to test within the following 10 years.
To prevent a conviction for DWI/DUI, or penalties for refusing to test, you need an attorney with ample experience arguing DUI/DWI cases. Daniel Covich, Attorney has years of experience defending DWI/DUI clients in the Corpus Christi area, and can help you keep your license and keep a DUI conviction off your record.